Showing posts with label Archives. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Archives. Show all posts

Tip: Use Outlook to view archived .pst files

If you have archived .pst files, please be aware that they will not be migrated to Google@CPS. However, you can set up Outlook to view theses files. (If you do not take these steps, Outlook may freeze if you try to open it.) Here's how:
  1. Click the Start Menu
  2. Click Control Panel 
  3. Click Mail 
  4. Click Email Accounts
    1. (In Outlook 2003) Select View or Change Existing Email Accounts and click Next
  5. Select the Exchange accounts
  6. Click Remove
  7. Click OK
  8. Click Close
  9. Close the Mail Setup window and reopen Outlook 

Take caution: When you go into Outlook to view archived .pst files, you are not working in a live environment. That is, you will not be able to receive, send, forward, or reply to messages. You should consider your archives view only.

You Asked: What about my archived email?!

Many Outlook users currently archive email to .pst files for future reference. According to Board policy, it is okay to archive or print email that you need to keep beyond the one-year retention policy.

In Google@CPS, however, archiving batches of email isn't supported. Instead, to "archive" individual emails, you can do one of the following:
  • Print them
  • Save them locally as a PDF 
  • Copy and paste the content into a Google Doc
  • You will have to save any attachments separately.

If you need to access your currently archived .pst files, you will have to use Outlook to view them. These files cannot be migrated to Google. (And even if we were able to do that, email older than one year would disappear.) See instructions for setting up Outlook.

Finally, don't confuse Google's "Archive" button with offline archiving. They are completely different. In Google@CPS, archiving an email simply takes it out of your inbox and saves it to behind-the-scenes folder called "All Mail". This allows you to get it out of your way while still being able to reference it for up to one year. Email in the All Mail (Archive) folder will be deleted after one year just as if it were in your inbox.